Papp Trophy
click to enlarge

Sandpiper Winner on MCYC Host Race Day

John Papp Jr. Memorial Trophy

In 2010 This trophy was rededicated to the winner of the Sandpiper Fleet on the day which Metedeconk River Yacht Club hosts or co-hosts the BBYRA series.

This trophy was awarded to the winner of the Junior Blue Jay BBYRA race which Metedeconk River Yacht Club hosts or co-hosts.

This trophy was donated by the Club in 1979 in honor of John Papp who loved the Club and was admired for his interest in promoting sailing. John dedicated his summer weekends to serving every Saturday as one of our Representatives on the BBYRA Race Committee. John was the bartender on board in the days when booze flowed freely on the Committee Boat. John did not drink and tried to keep the other members sober enough to run races. Then every Sunday John would show up to patrol for our Sunday races. His favorite admonition over the loud hailer to power boaters was - "powerboat, powerboat, please slow down".

Trophy Winners History - Sandpiper
2017BH24Jim CadranellBHYC
2016Titanic MC35Michael TufarielloMCYC
2015All races Abandoned - Weather
2014NB4Peter SchwartzNBYC
2013Zoar MA18Mark LewisMYC
2012Zoar MA18Mark LewisMYC
2011Fanny MC2Paul GelenitisMCYC
2010Salty Dog S2Charles HutchinsonSPYC
Trophy Winners History - Blue Jay
1997Maria KinzelMCYC
1996No Race
1995Ryan BradleyMCYC
1994Ryan BradleyMCYC
1993Alan Terhune Jr.TRYC
1992Chris ArnerMCYC
1991Nathan BossettMRYC
1990Amy RosenfledIHYC
1989Phil BarowLYC
1988Travis B. WeislederBHYC
1987Matt ReiserLYC
1986Bill StrunkMCYC
1985Phil Kinzel Jr.MCYC
1984Phil Kinzel Jr.MCYC
1983Tom SollasBHYC
1982David EgeeIHYC
1981No Race
1980Katie KelloggBHYC
1979Laura DunbarBHYC