LaPier Trophy
click to enlarge

NBYC - Sanderling Race Winner

Ted LaPier
Perpetual Trophy

The Ted LaPier Perpetual Trophy was established in 1994 to honor the memory of R. Theodore LaPier a past Commodore (1982-1983) of the Barnegat Bay Yacht Racing Association (BBYRA) and a long standing member of the Normandy Beach Yacht Club.

Ted learned to sail while in college at M.I.T. and passed his love of sailing to his children: Ted, David and Eve. Ted Sr. also served as Vice Commodore of the Normandy Beach Yacht Club for many years, designing the sailing courses still used today in the club's Sunday Races.

This trophy, which is a replica of Ted's Sanderling - The Elusive Eleven - is awarded each year to the winner of the Sanderling Class when the BBYRA is sailed at Normandy Beach. A small plaque on the trophy states very succinctly the club's respect for Ted. It reads: "Ted LaPier was a sailor whose substantial contributions to the NBYC & BBYRA are memorialized in this perpetual trophy."

Trophy Winners History
2017No race - Lack of Wind
2016Bart IH12Art BaileyIHYC
2015Catspurr BH12Charles M. BarclayBHYC
2014Mini Cat BH1Bob AdamsBHYC
2013Barnecat L7Mark Q. SchleckserLYC
2012Barrnacle L6Eddie Davis LYC
2011Barnecat L7Mark Q. SchleckserLYC
2010Barnecat L7Mark Q. SchleckserLYC
2009Barnecat L7Mark Q. SchleckserLYC
2008Whisker BH16John M. WardellBHYC
2007Barnecat L7Mark Q. SchleckserLYC
2006Barnecat SA1Mark SchleckserSAYC
2005Barnecat SA1Mark SchleckserSAYC
2004Barnecat SA1Mark SchleckserSAYC
2003Catspurr BH12Charles M. BarclayBHYC
2002Catspurr BH12Charles M. BarclayBHYC
2001Abby Gale MC10John SchwindMCYC
2000No Race
1999No Race
1998MiniCat BH1Bob AdamsBHYC
1997MC 100Pete StagaardMCYC
1996Whisker BH16John M. WardellBHYC
1995Catspurr BH12Charles M. BarclayBHYC
1994MiniCat BH1Bob AdamsBHYC